By Melody Li

In September, seniors Zoe Adams, Perry Tran and Sean Tseng were selected as the semifinalists for the National Merit Scholarship (NMSC) Program and are advancing to the finals in February.

Every year, about one-third of the 50,000 highest scoring students on the PSAT/NMSQT are selected as semifinalists based on a state representational basis.  All 7,500 winners of the three Merit Scholarship awards are chosen based on academic record, test scores, recommendations and essay.

The NMSC Program is an academic competition that recognizes high school students through multiple scholarships that are sponsored by different corporations or colleges.  Any high school student who takes the PSAT/NMSQT no later than junior year can qualify for the NMSC Program.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s